Ridgeview High School Cheerleading team returns from camp with honors

The Ridgeview High School Ravens cheerleading team recently returned from the National Cheerleaders Association (NCA) cheer champ at Oregon State University in Corvallis, Ore. where they earned a bid to compete at NCA Nationals held in California.

“Along with their many accomplishments, the entire team left the camp with improved skills and an even stronger bond than before we left for Corvallis,” Cheerleading Coach Shantell Benedictus said. “I couldn’t be prouder of our team for showcasing what it means to be a Raven cheerleader.”

Throughout the camp, the team won multiple “spirit sticks,” which is awarded by an NCA staff member who recognizes squads who exhibit the qualities cheerleaders should have, such as heart, diligence, dedication, good sportsmanship, a positive attitude and teamwork, Benedictus explained.

Nine Ravens were nominated for All-American cheerleader: Haley Teucher (leadership), Gabrielle Crouch (stunt), Kaytlyn Barber (stunt), Brytney Trost (stunt), Grace Potter (stunt), Maddie Abramson (leadership/dance), Gaby Smith (jumps), Grace Larkin (jumps), and Lindsay Sisson (leadership). NCA created the All-American Team to recognize individuals who display exemplary cheerleading and leadership skills. Team members become eligible to participate in special events around the world.

Gabrielle Crouch and Gaby Smith made the All-American Team by jumping, tumbling and performing a camp cheer by themselves.

Lindsay Sisson was awarded the “Gatorade Award,” which was chosen by staff who recognized two cheerleaders who stood out among over 400 attendees.

The 2017-2018 Ravens cheerleading team consists of:

Seniors – Gabrielle Crouch (captain), Brytney Trost (captain), Haley Teuscher, Allison Davidson, Gaby Smith, Kylie Welch, Erin Schiel, Lindsay Sisson.

Juniors – Maddie Abramson, Lexi Gresser, Grace Larkin, Grace Potter, Sarah Stewart, Maggie Brundage, Amber Reed.

Sophomores – Katlyn Barber

Freshman – Chaela Baker, Elania Boivie, Madison Princehorn, Marissa James.